EFL Trophy invited teams confirmed: Liverpool and Man United join


The list of invited under-21 academy teams for next season’s EFL Trophy has been confirmed.

All of the Premier League’s top six clubs will be represented by their category one academy teams, with Manchester United and Liverpool joining for the first time.

Everton are also entering an under-21 side in to the competition with Arsenal, Tottenham and Chelsea among the other invited clubs that will compete.

Last season, Tranmere met Manchester City youngsters during the group stage of the controversial competition, losing 1-0 thanks to a goal from Rabbi Matondo. Matondo is now at Schalke after City sold him for £11million in January.

The draw for the competition takes place in July with fixtures pencilled in to begin week commencing September 2nd.

The full list of invited teams who are confirmed to enter the competition are:

Aston Villa
Brighton & Hove Albion
Leicester City
Manchester City
Manchester United
Newcastle United
Norwich City
Tottenham Hotspur
West Ham United
Wolverhampton Wanderers

You may also like

Hot News