Norwood named in a PFA League Two Team of the Year dominated by Lincoln, Mansfield and Bury


In probably the most unsurprising news of the week, Tranmere striker James Norwood has been named in the PFA’s League Two Team of the Year.

The team is probably the ultimate accolade for the players named in it as it is voted for by their fellow professionals. Nors has been named in an eleven that includes four players from Champions Lincoln City, three from Saturday’s opponents Bury and two from Mansfield.

Norwood is partnered in a 4-3-3 formation alongside Lincoln’s John Akinde and Mansfield’s Tyler Walker. The midfield has two from Bury with Danny Mayor and Jay O’Shea being joined by Forest Green’s Reece Brown.

Lincoln dominate the back four with Harry Toffolo, Neal Eardley and Jason Shackell joined by Kristian Pearce of Mansfield. Former Tranmere keeper Joe Murphy, of Bury, was named as the goalkeeper.

Norwood has hit 27 goals this season and has been outstanding as Tranmere have chased a second consecutive promotion. He’s by far and away the best forward at this level, as was acknowledged by him being named League Two Player of the Year at the EFL Awards earlier this month. He was also named in the entire EFL Team of the Year at the same event.

You’d have to expect that most, if not all, of the team will be playing at a higher level next season, either through promotion at their current clubs or earning moves elsewhere.

Congrats to James on more recognition for an amazing year. Here’s hoping there’s some more to be written about the story of this season in the coming weeks.

You may also like

Hot News